Ten years ago, I immersed myself in my work.  I was there six nights of the week in the Summer time and every weekend night in the Winter.  My coworkers knew me better than some of my family members, and if I wasn’t asleep, I was probably either at work or getting ready to go to it.  I got home late and woke up even later.  I worked for tips in a predominantly cash economy.

There was that little experiment of me getting a real job with the US Air Force, but a few years later I’m doing it all over again.  And quite frankly, I wouldn’t have it any other way.  The actual setting and characters have changed, the context of it, but the content, the ideals and the end result, the content, it’s pretty much the same.

I’m practically nocturnal nowadays, and I prefer it.  I “work” anywhere from one to eight nights each week.  It really truly is like eight nights out of seven sometimes when the games go for dozens of hours at a time.  Since I’m spending so much of my time with the poque, the players and dealers on the circuit I do tend to know better than anyone else.  I live, breathe, eat, and sleep poker.  And is it still a cash economy?  You better believe it.

Other stuff I didn’t even mention, from the customer service aspect down to the micro management of resources… it all goes back to what I was doing before I knew I’d be doing it all over again in a different setting.

Reminds of that Robert Fulghum’s Book, Everything I Needed to Know I Learned In Kindergarten.

